Master Electricians is the professional trade organisation for electrical contracting businesses in New Zealand. We have over 1100 members, whose total annual combined sales are in excess of $1 billion. Our members employ around 6,000 electrical workers.

Members operating under our Master Electricians brand can safeguard the quality of their workmanship, providing extra assurance to customers.

As New Zealand’s only electrical contracting trade organisation, we work with the Government, regulatory bodies, industry stakeholders and the public over a wide range of issues on behalf of our members.

We own the Electrical Training Company Limited (etco), which was established in 1991 to employ and train apprentices. See the etco website for more information.


Our mission is to provide service, information and support to our members and the wider industry.

We represent, promote and advance the interests of the electrical contracting industry, those substantially engaged within the industry, and the public who employ electrical contracting services.


Master Electricians consists of the Board of Directors, National Council and ten branches nationwide. Day-to-day operations are managed from the National Office based in Wellington, with support from three regional managers.

The National Council, led by the President, represents membership and branch interests to the Board. Each branch has an elected councillor.

Chief Executive Officer

Bernie McLaughlin has recently been appointed CEO of Master Electricians. Prior to taking this role, he was the Operations Manager, having joined the organisation in 2012 after a history of running his own electrical contracting business and being an electrical trainer for Etco.

Bernie represents Master Electricians on the boards of the New Zealand Specialist Trades Contractors Federation and the Construction Safety Council.

Board of Directors

The Board has responsibility for the corporate governance and organisational direction of Master Electricians.

It comprises five directors and the Master Electricians President (ex-officio). The majority of directors are nominated and elected from the Master Electricians membership by branches, with independent directors appointed by the Board. 

Ross Beal Chair

Ross Beal, Chair

Dave Burt 2063

Dave Burt, Director

Graeme Church 2101

Graeme Church, Director

Eddie Eeles 2083

Eddie Eeles, Director

Craig OConnell 2120

Craig O'Connell, Director

Michael Barr President

Mike Barr, National President


Industry bodies for electrical contractors and wholesalers have existed in various forms for over 90 years. For more, see History

Industry representation

Master Electricians provides a voice for its members where it sees opportunities to advocate for change. For more, see Industry representation

Accredited partners

Our accredited partners support us in carrying out our work for the electrical contracting industry. For more, see Accredited partners